Mike Portnoy Involved in New Supergroup, Flying Colors. Debut CD due soon.

Flying Colors cd

The Mascot Label Group has announced a March 27 release date for the debut from Flying Colors (available the day prior overseas) on their Music Theories Label. The band, whose stated purpose is to pair virtuoso musicians and a pop singer “to make new-fashioned music the old-fashioned way,” features Mike Portnoy (drums, vocals), Dave LaRue (bass), Neal Morse (keyboards, vocals), Casey McPherson (lead vocals), and Steve Morse (guitar). “This album has bits and pieces of what you’d expect from each of us,” says Portnoy. “However, the sum of all its parts led to brand-new, uncharted territory for all involved.”

Steve Morse and Dave LaRue were both members of pioneering fusion band Dixie Dregs; Neal Morse was a cofounder of neo-prog leaders Spock’s Beard; Portnoy rose to prominence as the leader, drummer, producer, and co-writer for metal/prog band Dream Theater; and Casey McPherson was in the successful pop group Alpha Rev.

Touring plans for Flying Colors will be announced in the coming months. For more, go to